Formula E

Vergne takes victory in Techeetah 1-2 af Santiago

Saturday’s Santiago ePrix for the ABB FIA Formula E Championship saw a little history made as Techeetah Formula E Team scored the first 1-2 in series history, with Jean-Eric Vergne leading teammate Andre Lotterer to the line.

That was great fun!” said an ecstatic Vergne as he took the checkered flag. “It’s racing in the end and I had a lot of pace in the car.

“He knows exactly how to defend!” added Lotterer, justifying his numerous attacks on his teammate. “A one-two win, buddies, and podiums – life is good!”

As a customer team, Techeetah are limited to just three test days – while other manufacturers get 15, making the double all the more impressive.

In third place was Renault e.dams’ Sebastien Buemi who dropped a place after starting the race in second place.

“In general, I’m a bit disappointed. Third place is always good but a bit disappointed to be behind our customer team,” Buemi said.

Despite Dragon driver Jose Maria Lopez crashing out on the first lap, bringing out the Qualcomm safety car for the following three laps, Vergne led the way from the his pole position start. Leading the way, Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s Nelson Piquet Jr. was sandwiched in between the two Techeetahs in the opening laps, keeping close on Vergne’s tail, and even making contact with the leader’s rear fender.

On lap 28, DS Virgin Racing’s Alex Lynn retired from the race while Buemi and Piquet battled it out. Eventually, Buemi made him on Turn 4 of lap 32.

Behind the Techeetah teammates, Sebastien Buemi finished third for Renault e.dams, outdueling Nelson Piquet Jr. in the Panasonic Jaguar Racing entry. Piquet, in an attempt to pass Buemi for third, overshot his corner entry and gently nosed into the tire barrier. However, he rebounded to finish sixth.

Felix Rosenqvist finished fourth for Mahindra Racing, with Sam Bird in fifth for DS Virgin Racing.



1. Jean-Eric Vergne FRA Techeetah 37 laps
2. Andre Lotterer GER Techeetah + 1.154s
3. Sebastien Buemi SUI Renault e.dams + 1.959s
4. Felix Rosenqvist SWE Mahindra + 2.793s
5. Sam Bird GBR DS Virgin Racing + 4.490s
6. Nelson Piquet Jr. BRA Panasonic Jaguar Racing + 6.364s
7. Mitch Evans NZL Panasonic Jaguar Racing + 7.099s
8. Jerome d’Ambrosio BEL Dragon Racing + 13.308s
9. Antonio Felix da Costa POR Andretti + 14.811s
10. Nicolas Prost FRA Renault e.dams + 21.092s
11. Tom Blomqvist GBR Andretti + 32.924s
12. Luca Filippi ITA NIO Formula E + 44.127s
13. Edoardo Mortara SUI Venturi + 49.398s
14. Oliver Turvey GBR NIO Formula E + 1m 11.928s


Ret. Alex Lynn GBR DS Virgin Racing 26 laps
Ret. Nick Heidfeld GER Mahindra 23 laps
Ret. Lucas di Grassi BRA ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 21 laps
Ret. Daniel Abt GER ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 11 laps
Ret. Jose Maria Lopez ARG Dragon Racing 0 laps
Ret. Maro Engel GER Venturi 0 laps

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.