Formula E


It’s a back to back wins for Sebasien Buemi as he won the first round of the 2016/2017 Formula E season.  The reigning champion recovered from a post-qualifying penalty to take his second win in as many races to extend his lead at the top of the drivers’ championship.

Sebastien Buemi was penalised after qualifying for a fire extinguisher infringement and handed a five-place grid penalty. He started  from seventh place, he overtook his team-mate Nico Prost, ABT Scheafflers’ Daniel Abt, NextEV NIO’s  Nelson Piquet and DS Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird to move up to third place prior to the pit stop.

There was a drive-through penalty for Techeetah’s Jean-Eric Vergne promoted Sebasiten Buemi to second place, before the Swiss pilot reeled in a passed Mahindra’s Felix Rosenqvist who started the race on pole position.

Meanwhile, DS Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird surprizling made a late pass on Rosenqvist to claim second place ahead of the young Swedish driver, who took his first Formula E podium.

The second Renault eDams, Nico Prost took fourth place ahead of Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport’s Lucas di Grassi – who recovered from a lowly start position of twelfth place – and his team-mate Daniel Abt.

Oliver Turvey took seventh place for NEXTEV Nio, with Jean-Eric Vergne who  eventually dropped to eighth place ahead of Nick Heidfeld (Mahindra) and Jose Maria Lopez finshing the top ten.


  1.  Sebastien Buemi  – Renualt eDams
  2. Sam Bird – DS Virgin Racing +2.457
  3. Felix Rosenqvist – Mahindra Racing +7.195
  4. Nico Prost – Renualt eDams +11.586
  5. Lucas Di Grassi – ABT Schaeffler Sport Audi +13.771
  6. Daniel Abt – ABT Schaeffler Sport Audi +18.233
  7. Oliver Turvey – NextEV NIO +21.710
  8. Jean-Eric Vergne – Techeetah +28.01
  9. Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing +33.699
  10. Jose Maria Lopez DS Virgin Racing +33.863
  11. Robin Frijns MS Amlin Andretti +37.092
  12. Stephane Sarrazin Venturi +40.683
  13. Jerome D’Ambrosio Dragon Racing +42.034
  14. Adam Carroll Jaguar +49.026
  15. Ma Qing Hua Techeetah +50.433
  16. Nelson Piquet Jr. NextEV NIO +1:15.452
  17. Mitch Evans Jaguar +1 lap
  18. Loic Duval Dragon Racing +3 laps
  19. Maro Engel Venturi – DNF
  20. Antonio Felix da Costa MS Amlin Andretti – DNF

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.